landlocked bride

planning my modern wedding in the middle of the country

au naturale July 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Brit @ 10:01 pm
Tags: , ,

No, this post is now what you think it is about.

I’m talking, natural, nature, flowers.

Let me start from the beginning.  I do not have a desire to have my wedding covered in flowers.  They just are not that appealing to me (Yes, I can hear you brides out there gasping right now). Flowers are beautiful, don’t get me wrong, but I really did not have any intention of incorporating flowers into the wedding in any way other than the bouquets (The boys are not wearing bouts.  More on that in another post). I’m not opposed to beautiful and extravagant centerpieces, they just do not really fit the feel of my wedding.  And, let’s be honest, the FI could really care less.  I have other ideas on how to incorporate color into the wedding reception, which are equally as beautiful, and just plain fun! Plus, when your wedding ceremony site is practically a huge greenhouse with a ton of flowers, it doesn’t seem necessary to overdo it in flowers.

HOWEVER, in the past few weeks I have fallen. Hard.  Over these:


Source

Oh, ranunculas, how pretty you are.  For those who know me, you know I don’t like roses, so why do I like this somewhat rose look-a-like?  Trust me, it has nothing to do with it looking similar to a rose.  It just has character, and fullness, which is one thing a rose does not have.  How gorgeous is this bouquet?


Source

I just think a full bouquet of these babies would be fun and different. A change of pace from your ‘traditional’ bridal bouquet, which is obviously what I’m going for (the non-traditional part, that is). I just don’t like roses, or carnations or most flowers.

I know, I know. “But what about calla lilies? I thought those were your favorite.” Trust me they are, but they are also very expensive. I just never envisioned dropping a couple “Gs” on flowers. So unless anyone out there is bridal flower land has great ideas on where to get good quality calla lilies for cheap or how to incorporate them in a minimal, but effective way, I’m sticking with the ranunculas.

What are your favorite wedding flowers?  Well, really, do you have a favorite flower that was a “must” to include in your wedding plans?

 

Leave a Reply

