landlocked bride

planning my modern wedding in the middle of the country

color combo April 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Brit @ 10:08 pm
Tags: , ,

So, I’m pretty sure we’ve decided on colors for the wedding. And, as cliche as it is, we really want to go with reds and oranges.  I had contemplated navy blue for a short period of time, but reds and oranges beat it out.

Even though our wedding is in the Fall, and reds and oranges are everywhere, I want to use them in a different way.  My initial thought was to go with the color of Fall foliage, but it just seems too overdone.   And, after re-doing the invitation suite recently, I thought the best thing to do is stick with “fresh colors”.  So, with that being said, here are our colors:

Source

Below is my inspiration board for colors.  We are going for a modern twist on the traditional wedding.  We will be replacing old elements with new ones and just making it more about us and our relationship/personalities.  I think that is more important than “traditional” wedding elements.  The colors will be displayed everywhere as “pops” of color, making it fun.

inspiration-board

Have any of you gone back and forth on color choices?

 

4 Responses to “color combo”

  1. Amy Pfeiffer Says:

    Beautiful colors! I’ve always thought I’d have brushed gold and burgundy for an October wedding, so I’m glad you’re not encroaching on my non-existent wedding’s plans 🙂 !

    • Brit Says:

      I was thisclose to going that route with colors, but FI and I just thought that the brightness of red and orange would match us a lot better!

  2. […] are still sticking with our “Garnet, Tangerine and Chocolate” theme, but I wanted to share my recent color crisis.  I think they are just so modern and […]

  3. […] are still sticking with our “Garnet, Tangerine and Chocolate” theme, but I wanted to share my recent color crisis.  I think they are just so modern and […]


Leave a Reply

