landlocked bride

planning my modern wedding in the middle of the country

diy project #2 April 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Brit @ 5:36 pm
Tags: , , ,

First off, I am sure most of you are even wondering why I am thinking about stuff like this so early in the game.  What can I say?  I’m a planner.

Any who…

I have really been racking my brain for ideas for centerpieces.  We haven’t met with any florists, but I already get the idea that flowers (beyond bouquets, bouts, etc.) are going to be outrageously expensive).  I cannot decide if I want something dramatic or simple.  I surely know I do not want anything gaudy or too tall.

I found this today while searching around on Project Wedding.  I really like the simplicity of it.  By just immersing a few calla lillies into talk cylindrical vases of varying heights, it gives off a classic modern fell that I really like.

Source

I really like the idea of working several different looking vases or ones of varying heights just to give depth to the centerpiece.  I would rather not have one big hunk of flowers in the middle of the table.  Here is another idea similar to the other one:

Source

I also really like the idea of using local, fresh organic ingredients/elements.   Sort of like the image below.  It creates a good mixture of different textures and shades of green (my wedding colors are red, brown and orange….so I would go with elements in those hues).  It is a different look than your standard vase with flowers.

Source

What sort of ideas have any of you thought about?  Any ideas/suggestions for me?

 

Leave a Reply

